NAMA Shortcuts
Member Directory
Best of NAMA 2012
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf

Source: Donald Danforth Plant Science Center news release

The Board of Trustees of the Donald Danforth Plant Science Center elected John F. McDonnell to succeed William H. Danforth, M.D., as chairman, and added three St. Louis leaders as new trustees. Danforth received the designation of founding chairman.

McDonnell has served as a Danforth Plant Science Center trustee since 2000, and as vice chairman of the board since 2007. He retired as chairman of the McDonnell Douglas Corporation in 1997, and as a director of Boeing Company in 2012.

McDonnell has been active in establishing an entrepreneurial ecosystem in St. Louis to enable start-up companies to commercialize life science research breakthroughs. McDonnell is the founding chairman of BioSTL and of the BioGenerator, two nonprofit organizations that provide support to entrepreneurs, young companies, and researchers working in the life sciences sector in St. Louis.

"We're thrilled to have John McDonnell as our new chairman," said James C. Carrington, Danforth Center president. "He has been a remarkable leader in the St. Louis community, an invaluable trustee and a generous supporter of the Center."

Newly elected trustees include Blackford F. (Beau) Brauer, executive vice president, Hunter Engineering; Lee Broughton, head of international marketing and corporate sustainability, Enterprise Holdings; and Mark Trudeau, president and chief executive officer, Mallinckrodt Pharmaceuticals. Brauer and Broughton have served as members of the Danforth Leadership Council at the Center since 2009.

Danforth served as chairman since the Danforth Plant Science Center's inception in 1998. He was honored for his vision and service at a special reception on November 11, 2013. He is widely recognized for leading the effort to strengthen and grow the region's plant and life sciences economy. He is Chancellor Emeritus of Washington University and Chairman of the BioStL Coalition.

"Quite simply, the Danforth Center would not exist without the vision, hard work and commitment of Dr. Danforth" Carrington said. "I cannot thank him enough for his leadership, and cannot overstate the impact that he's had as chairman."

Current members of the board include, Phil Needleman, new elected vice chairman of the Board, Senator Christopher (Kit) Bond, Daniel A. Burkhardt, Brett A. Campbell, Christopher B. Danforth, Brady J. Deaton, Arnold W. Donald, Hugh Grant, David W. Kemper, Alfonso Romo-Garza, Todd R. Schnuck, Mary Danforth Stillman, P. Roy Vagelos, Robert L. Virgil, Eric R. Ward, Phyllis M. Wise, Mark S. Wrighton, Peter Wyse Jackson and Usha Barwale Zehr.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © Copyright 2014, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement