National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2017
Member Directory

Source: Alltech news release

The International Federation of Agricultural Journalists (IFAJ) announced the recipients of the 2018 IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders in Agricultural Journalism Award. This year's program, sponsored by Alltech, honors 10 young agricultural journalists and communicators who have demonstrated outstanding achievement in reporting as well as excellent potential as leaders of the industry in the years to come. The honorees were chosen by an international jury among applicants from many of IFAJ's 43-member countries.

This year's IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders are:
Katie Knapp, The Ag Photographer, USA
Ashley Robinson, Commodity News Service, Canada
Hannes Baumgartner, Der Landwirt, Austria
Marike Brits, Plaas Media, South Africa
Lydia Burton, the Australian Broadcasting Corporation
Dagmar Deutsch, Agrarheute, Germany
Joseph Gakpo, Multimedia Group, Ltd., Ghana
Oonagh O'Mahony, IFP Media, Republic of Ireland
Tuulikki Viilo, Maaseudun Tulevaisuus, Finland
Rasmus Bue Willesen, Landbrugsmedierne, Denmark

"My father, Dr. Pearse Lyons, loved talking to journalists and admired their ability to tell stories, particularly the stories within agriculture. He also understood the great importance of mentorship and education in his own life, which is why he was always a strong supporter of the IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders. This program is a perfect example of how bringing education and journalism together can cultivate passionate communicators within agriculture. As we remember Dr. Lyons' life and legacy, we look forward to supporting the work of these young journalists for years to come and wish them the best of luck at Boot Camp in The Netherlands this year," said Mark Lyons, president of Alltech.

The 10 honorees will attend the 2018 IFAJ Congress in Wageningen, The Netherlands, in July. The Young Leaders will also participate in a Boot Camp in the days prior to Congress, which includes professional development and networking workshops and farm visits in the Wageningen area.

"Over the past 12 years, we have seen IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders excel in their careers and help strengthen our industry," says Steve Werblow, IFAJ secretary general. "They go home and bring their energy and skills to help their guilds, and many alumni of this program have taken leadership roles within IFAJ. We are grateful to Alltech for its long commitment to the future of agricultural journalism, and grateful to these enthusiastic young colleagues for their contributions - now and in the years to come."

The IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders Award was established in 2006 by the International Federation of Agricultural Journalists and Alltech to recognize emerging leaders in agricultural journalism and communications from around the world. In addition to global recognition, Young Leaders participate in professional development and networking programs held in conjunction with IFAJ's annual Congress. The IFAJ/Alltech Young Leaders program is a key force in developing the next generation of volunteers for IFAJ and its member guilds. For more information, visit

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2019, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement