National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2017
Member Directory

Source: USDA news release

U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Sonny Perdue today announced the appointment of 5 new members and 12 returning members to the National Advisory Committee on Meat and Poultry Inspection (NACMPI).

"It is our goal to protect public health, prevent foodborne illness, and promote confidence in the U.S. food safety inspection system, which is the most reliable and well-documented in the world," said Perdue. "These committee members, with their breadth of experience and expertise, will help inform USDA on best practices as we continue to protect public health with the latest advances in science and technology."

NACMPI was established in 1971 by the USDA Food Safety and Inspection Service (FSIS). NACMPI is a discretionary advisory committee that advises on food safety concerns and other matters affecting federal and state inspection program activities. It also contributes to USDA's regulatory policy development.

The new NACMPI members appointed to serve two-year terms are:

Mr. Thomas Gremillion, Consumer Federation of America
Mr. James Jenkins, Louisiana Department of Agriculture and Forestry
Dr. Amilton De Mello, University of Nevada
Ms. Tina Rendon, Pilgrim's Pride Corp
Ms. Kimberly Rice, U.S. Foods

Reappointed NACMPI members are:

Dr. Manpreet Singh, University of Georgia
Dr. Randall K. Phebus, Kansas State University
Dr. Patricia Curtis, Auburn University
Mr. Brian Sapp, White Oak Pastures
Ms. Sherri Jenkins, JBS, USA
Dr. Betsy Booren, Olsson Frank Weeda Terman Matz, PC
Dr. Alice Johnson, Butterball
Dr. Michael Crupain, Dr. Oz Show
Dr. Tanya Roberts, Center for Foodborne Illness Research and Prevention
Mr. Kurt Brandt, United Food and Commercial Workers Union
Dr. Dustin Oedekoven, South Dakota State
Dr. Kryzsztof Mazurczak, State of Illinois

For further information on NACMPI, please visit the FSIS website.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2019, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement