National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2018
Member Directory

Source: Iowa State University news release

Kevin Kimle
Ames, IA - Kevin Kimle, director of the Iowa State University Agricultural Entrepreneurship Initiative, received the Ted Bair CYstarters Mentorship Award.

The Iowa State University Pappajohn Center for Entrepreneurship presented the new award to Kimle on July 31. The award honors Ted Bair who unexpectedly passed away in February.

"Ted was a great guy, who served in roles in the Small Business Development Center here at ISU late in his career," Kimle said.

Bair gave generously of his time to support students, share his network and help grow entrepreneurs at Iowa State and across the state. He was a supporter of the Pappajohn Center for Entrepreneurship and the Iowa Small Business Development Center. His participation in the Pappajohn Center's CYstarters entrepreneurship summer accelerator program provided young entrepreneurs with accountability and mentoring.

Kimle, who is an associate teaching professor in economics, said Bair helped him and many of the entrepreneurs engaged in the Agricultural Entrepreneurship Initiative.

"He used his business and life experiences to coach and mentor entrepreneurs and small business owners," Kimle said.

To honor Bair the Pappajohn Center created one student award and one mentor award. Along with Kimle's mentor award, Dillon Burns was presented the student award. Burns is a Kinesiology student and a military veteran who is working on a fitness business for kids in Des Moines.

The Ted Bair CYstarters Award will be presented annually to a student, alumnus, educator, or mentor involved in the CYstarters program. The student awardee will receive a $1,000 award. A non-monetary supporter award will be given to a mentor, educator, or alum.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2020, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement