National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2018
Member Directory

Source: Project EverGreen news release

The Turf & Ornamental Communicators Association (TOCA) and Project EverGreen announce that Karen Reardon, vice president of public affairs for RISE (Responsible Industry for a Sound Environment) is the recipient of the 2020 TOCA Environmental Communicator of the Year Award.

The award, which recognizes individuals for outstanding communications efforts regarding publicly managed green space and environmental issues, was presented during this year's TOCA Virtual Conference. Reardon is the 22nd recipient of this award.

During her time at RISE, Reardon has been responsible for state and local issues management, regulatory affairs and communications. Her focus has been on sharing messaging regarding the benefits of specialty pesticides and fertilizers with policy makers, media, professional applicator partners and consumers.

Reardon led RISE's groundbreaking, data driven public affairs programs "Debug the Myths" and "And not Or," and regularly speaks to groups throughout the country sharing program insights and messaging.

She joined RISE in 2005 as director of communications after working a decade in stewardship and communications for CropLife America. Prior to that she worked in the defense industry with TASC and The RAND Corp. She earned a bachelor's degree from Hood College in Frederick, Maryland.

"Karen communicates naturally and effortlessly. She not only understands the issues

inside and out, she listens to all views and responds appropriately," says said Cindy Code, executive director of Project EverGreen. "Karen is a hidden gem for the green industry, a tireless advocator, and a friend we're proud to recognize and honor with this award."

Previous Environmental Communicator Award recipients include:

1999 - Mark Welterlen, former publisher Grounds Maintenance magazine
2000 - Bill Love, W.R. Love Golf Architecture
2001 - Tim Doppel, Atwood Lawn Care
2002 - Doug Fender, former executive director, Turfgrass Producers International
2003 - Allen James, former CEO, RISE
2004 - Rod Dodson, Audubon International
2005 - Jeff Gullickson, Spokane Country Club
2006 - Kevin Trotta, grounds manager/IPM specialist, Cornwall, NY
2007 - Helen Stone, Southwest Trees & Turf magazine
2008 - Allied Golf Associations of Colorado
2009 - Drs. Larry Stowell/Wendy Gelernter, PACE Turf
2010 - Christopher Gray, formerly Marvel Golf Club
2011 - Anthony Williams, formerly Marriott Golf and golf course consultant
2012 - Dr. Frank Rossi, Cornell University
2013 - Phil Fogarty, Weed Man and Crowley's Vegetation Management
2014 - Brandon Horvath, University of Tennessee
2015 - Dr. Brian Horgan, University of Minnesota
2016 - Dr. Dave Shetlar, The Ohio State University
2017 - Dr. Frank Wong, Bayer Environmental Science
2018 - Mayor Mike Duggan, Detroit, Michigan
2019 - Norman Goldenberg, Namron Business Associates, Miami, Florida

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2020, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement