National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2018
Member Directory

National Pork Producers Council (NPPC) reports:

Des Moines, IA - The National Pork Producers Council (NPPC) today awarded scholarships to 10 college students who intend to pursue careers in the pork industry. The Lois Britt Memorial Pork Industry Scholarship program is sponsored by CME Group and the National Pork Industry Foundation, and managed and administered by NPPC. The award was announced at NPPC's annual National Pork Industry Forum.

The 2021 winners of the $2,500 scholarships - named after the late NPPC vice president from Mt. Olive, N.C. - are:

Don Banks, North Carolina State University
Claire Christensen, Iowa State University
Grace Christensen, Iowa State University
Carla Edleman, Iowa State University
Aly Francis, Oklahoma State University
Seth Mitchell, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
Abigail Ross, Iowa State University
Leah Ruen, University of Minnesota-Twin Cities
Heather Snow, University of Missouri
Isaac Wiley, Iowa State University

The scholarship program was introduced in 1990 by CME Group and NPPC to celebrate the 25th anniversary of CME hog futures. The scholarship was renamed in 2006 to honor the passing of NPPC board member Lois Britt, a lifetime supporter of agriculture.

To be eligible for a scholarship, students must be undergraduates in a two-year swine program or a four-year college of agriculture.

"These bright young men and women represent the next generation of U.S. pork producers," said NPPC President Howard "AV" Roth, a hog farmer from Wauzeka, Wisconsin. "We need to encourage, educate and nurture future leaders in our industry, and NPPC and CME Group are pleased to award these students with well-deserved scholarships," he added.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2021, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement