National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2020

Source: Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST) news release

(L to R): Iowa Ag Sec'y Mike Naig, Farm Journal Foundation President Tricia Beal (award sponsor); FMC Industry Affairs Mgr Ryan Locke (event sponsor); Dr. Sarah Evanega; CAST Exec/CEO Kent Schescke and Jay Vroom, FMC Consultant, long time CAST supporter and former CEO of CropLife America. The event was held in the World Food Prize building in downtown Des Moines, IA. Overseeing the event (in the background) is Dr. Norman Borlaug, winner of Nobel Peace Prize and founder of the World Food Prize.
Des Moines, IA - Since 2010, the Council for Agricultural Science and Technology (CAST) has played a key role the World Food Prize/Borlaug Dialogue, with its presentation of the Borlaug CAST Communication Award (BCCA). Well-respected researchers, diplomats, and academics have won the award, but all have one thing in common: they convey important information to the public and policymakers alike.

The October 21 BCCA event honored the 2021 recipient, Dr. Sarah Evanega. Evanega is a professor at the Boyce Thompson Institute for Plant Research and the founding director of the Alliance for Science. She spoke on Set a Bolder Table for the Future: Modify, Include, Diversify. Evanega started off her speech by thanking her family, donors, friends, and colleagues. She believes there are three ways to help transform the world: reject exclusivity, form unlikely alliances, and be risky and daring altruists. When discussing how to reject exclusivity, she explained, "Changing who gets invited to our tables doesn't happen all at once, but we have to start somewhere."

The Borlaug CAST Communication Award (BCCA) is presented annually for outstanding achievement by a scientist, engineer, technologist, or other professional working in the agricultural, environmental, or food sectors for contributing to the advancement of science in the public policy arena. The award is dedicated to Dr. Norman E. Borlaug, "The Man Who Fed the World" and author of the first CAST publication in 1973, and to Dr. Charles A. Black, first CAST President, first Executive Vice President, and member of the founding committee of CAST. 

The Borlaug CAST Communication Award is sponsored by the Farm Journal Foundation. Additional support for the breakfast and video recording (available soon) was provided by FMC.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2021, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement