National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2020

Source: Agricultural Business Council of Kansas City news release

Kansas City, MO - The Agricultural Business Council of Kansas City will honor two of the region's leading agricultural figures on May 18 at a luncheon in the Chamber Board Room in Kansas City's historic Union Station. The honorees will receive the Council's highest award, the Jay B. Dillingham Award for Agricultural Leadership and Excellence.

Agricultural Business Council Chairman Dustin Johansen notes the honorees are champions for agriculture in separate but very key areas in the region. The 2022 honorees are Jan Lyons, Lyons Ranch, Manhattan, Kansas, and Dr. Abner Womack, FAPRI-retired, University Missouri.

Jan Lyons, Lyons Ranch, Manhattan, KS
With encouragement and support from her husband, Frank (who worked full-time in town) and daughters, Debbie and Amy, Jan took the reins in establishing Lyons Ranch in 1977 with the purchase of a group of bred heifers and with the selection of a few select Angus cows from top breeders in the state as Foundation cows. By using A.I. and embryo transfer, the Ranch was able to breed to specifications focusing on economically and sustainable maternal traits for the herd.

Lyons became involved in industry organizations early in her career and went on to record several "firsts," serving as the first woman president of the Kansas Livestock Association (1994) and as the first president of the Kansas Angus Association (1981). She has also served as Chairman, Cattlemen's Beef Promotion and Research Board (1996) and President of the National Cattlemen's Beef Association (2004). Beef Magazine named her "Producer of the Year" in 2004 for her leadership during the BSE crisis. In 2008 she was recognized as "Stockman of the Year" by Kansas State University.

Today, Lyons Ranch is proud to celebrate 45 years of continuous family ownership and operated with three generations actively involved.

Dr Abner Womack, FAPRI-retired, Columbia, MO
Dr. Womack is Professor Emeritus of Agricultural Economics and co-founder of the Food and Agricultural Policy Research Institute (FAPRI-MU) at the University of Missouri. His work at FAPRI earned him national recognition and built upon his earlier work at USDA's Economic Research Service where he developed econometric models that focused on the structure of the global food system. His work at FAPRI centered on the evaluation of possible econometric consequences of policy options under consideration before the enactment of legislation. He has been recognized by many groups, including:
American Farm Bureau's Distinguished Service Award (which was received along with Senator Richard Lugar (R-IN)), 2014
Top Producer magazine named Dr. Womack as one of the 30 "Leaders that Made a Difference: Brave Thinkers," 2013
USDA's Secretary of Agriculture Honor Award, 2001
European Union Center, University of Missouri Fellows Award, 1999
Council of Agriculture Science & Technology's Charles A. Black Award, 1999
American Agricultural Economics Association's Distinguished Policy Contributor Award, 1991

Dr. Womack holds B.S. and M.S. degrees in mathematics from Auburn University and a Ph.D. degree in agricultural economics from the University of Minnesota.

"These individuals have had a positive and lasting effect on our community," said Council Chairman Johansen. "They are strong examples of what a leader can accomplish."

The event will be held at the Chamber of Commerce Board Room in Union Station beginning at 11:30 a.m. for networking followed by lunch at noon. Visit for more information and to register to attend.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2022, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement