National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2018
Member Directory

Source: Agri Marketing magazine

The North American Agricultural Journalists (NAAJ) announced the winners of its awards program held in conjunction with its annual meeting April 19-21 in Washington, D.C.

Multiple first, second and third place winners include: DTN/Progressive Farmer-5; Reuters-3; Bloomberg-2, and Kearney (NE) Hub-2.

Here is a complete list of the winners:

Glenn Cunningham Ag Writer of the Year (chosen from the first place winners of all categories except special projects) -- Steve Buist, Hamilton (Ontario) Spectator

1. Jonathan Knutson, The Forum (Fargo, ND)
2. Tom Polausek, Dow Jones Newswire
3. Jim Downing, Sacramento Bee
Honorable Mention - Mateusz Perkowski, Capital Press
Honorable Mention - Mica Rosenberg, Reuters
Honorable Mention - Todd Neeley, DTN/Progressive Farmer
Honorable Mention - Alan Bjerga and Tony Dreibus, Bloomberg News

1. Chris Clayton, DTN/Progressive Farmer
2. Chuck Abbott and Christopher Doering, Reuters
3. (Tie) Greg Horstmeier, DTN/Progressive Farmer
And Marcia Zarley Taylor, DTN/Progressive Farmer

Honorable Mention - Chris Clayton, DTN/Progressive Farmer
Honorable Mention - Mikkel Pates/Agweek

1. Alan Bjerga, Bloomberg News
2. Susanne Stahl, DTN/Progressive Farmer
3. Lori Potter, Kearney (NE) Hub
Honorable Mention - Alan Bjerga, Bloomberg News
Honorable Mention - Dan Looker, Successful Farming
Honorable Mention - Philip Brasher, Des Moines Register
Honorable Mention - Jonathan Knutson, The Forum (Fargo, ND)
Honorable Mention - Barbara Duckworth, Western Producer

1. Christine Stebbins, Reuters
2. D'Arce McMillan, Western Producer
3. Jasmin Melvin, Reuters
Honorable mention - Christine Stebbins, Reuters
Honorable mention - John Vogel, American Agriculturalist

1. Steve Buist, Hamilton (Ontario) Spectator
2. Lauren Etter, Julie Jargon, Scott Kilman and Roger Thurow of the Wall Street Journal
3. Lori Potter, Kearney (NE) Hub
Honorable Mention - Jerry Perkins, Des Moines Register
Honorable Mention - Tom Rivers, Daily News of Batavia (NY)
Honorable mention - Marcia Zarley Taylor and Elizabeth Williams, DTN/Progressive
Honorable mention - Susanne Stahl, Elizabeth Williams and Elaine Shein of DTN/Progressive Farmer

1. (tie)
- Bloomberg News (Alan Bjerga, Alan Katz, Carlos Caminada, Alison Fitzgerald, Helen Murphy, Christopher Swann, Jason Gale, Luzi Ann Javier, Ian Katz, Ari Levy, Pius Lukong and Peter Robison)
- Des Moines Register staff
2. Not awarded.
3. Todd Neeley, Chris Clayton and Russ Quinn of DTN/Progressive Farmer
Honorable Mention - Jim Patrico, DTN/Progressive Farmer
Honorable Mention - Barry Wilson, Western Producer
Honorable Mention - Lori Potter, Kearney (NE) Hub
Honorable Mention - Dan Looker and Jeff Caldwell, Successful Farming
Honorable Mention - Chris Clayton, Gregg Hillyer, Jim Patrico and Urban Lehner of DTN/Progressive Farmer

First place - Adam Templeton, University of Nebraska-Lincoln, DTN/Progressive Farmer

J.S. Russell Memorial Award for outstanding service to the organization -- Chris Clayton, DTN/Progressive Farmer
Audrey Mackiewicz Special Award for increased agricultural coverage --
Bill Zipf Presidential Award to the outgoing president -- Betsy Freese, Living the Country Life
Bruce Ingersoll Mentorship Award for member attending first meeting -- Tom Rivers, Daily News of Batavia (NY)

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2020, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement