National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2017
Member Directory

Source: Meat Industry Hall of Fame news release

The Meat Industry Hall of Fame inducted the Members of the Class of 2016 following a formal dinner at the Georgia Aquarium on January 31. The event, which took place during the opening day of the International Production and Processing Expo, was attended by 150 people including family and friends of the inductees and some of the top industry executives.

The Class was selected from a distinguished list of nominees and a record number of votes were cast by current members of the Hall of Fame and the organization's Board of Trustees.

The Members of the Class of 2016 who were inducted are:

Clayton Yeutter, United States Secretary of Agriculture (1989 to 1991) and Counselor to the President (1992);

Chuck Hendryx, Vice President, Meat, H -E -B Grocery Company;

Dr. Joe Sebranek, Professor, Iowa State University;

Sam Stein, Founder and Chairman, Chef's Pantry and Sam Stein Associates;

Dr. Joe Cordray, Professor and Extension Meat Specialist, Iowa State University;

Sam Kane, Founder, Sam Kane Beef Processors; and

C. Larry Pope, President and Chief Executive Officer, Smithfield Foods.

The induction ceremony was hosted by Rosemary Mucklow, Director Emeritus of the North American Meat Institute, who shared her memories of over half a century in the meat industry, She delivered an emotional tribute to Wolfgang Ludwig, Meat Industry Hall of Fame Class of 2015 and founder of Wolf-tec and WTI, who passed away just a few weeks ago.

Attending and accepting the honors in person were Drs. Joe Cordray and Joe Sebranek of Iowa State University who were supported by a large contingent of friends and university associates. Chuck Hendryx of H-E-B was on hand with family and friends, too, to accept the honor in person. Smithfield's C. Larry Pope and USDA Secretary Clayton Yeutter, unable to attend, accepted by video presentations. The awards to Sam Kane, founder of Sam Kane Beef Processors, and Sam Stein, founder of Chef's Pantry and Sam Stein Associates, were given posthumously and accepted by family members.

"This was our eighth Induction ceremony," said Meat Industry Hall of Fame President, Chuck Jolley. "We were delighted to work with the people at IPPE and NAMI who helped make it one of the most successful events since we started this very important project. Nominations for members of the Class of 2017 will be open soon and we know those inductees will be just as noteworthy and distinguished as the Class of 2016."

About the Meat Industry Hall of Fame

The MEAT INDUSTRY HALL OF of FAME was created in 2008 as a repository of our history and a shrine to the leaders and legends whose vision, skill and dedication shaped and sustained the meat and poultry industry as the leading sector of North American food production.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2017, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement