National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2017
Member Directory

Source: Biotechnology Innovation Organization news release

The Biotechnology Innovation Organization (BIO) today presented Senator John Thune (R-S.D.) its Industrial & Environmental Section Legislator of the Year Award. The award recognizes Senator Thune's support of the biotechnology industry and steadfast commitment to growing South Dakota's and the nation's biobased economy. The award was presented by Doug Berven, a member of BIO's governing board and vice president of corporate affairs at POET, which is headquartered in Sioux Falls, and Brent Erickson, executive vice president of BIO's Industrial & Environmental Section.

Erickson stated:

"Senator John Thune has been a strong and constant champion of policies that support industrial biotechnology companies in creating jobs, revitalizing manufacturing, improving U.S. energy security and building a biobased economy.

"Senator Thune was first elected to the Senate in 2004, when the first Renewable Fuel Standard was under development. He helped expand the program in 2007 and has been a determined advocate in encouraging the Environmental Protection Agency to get the program on track for future growth.

"As a member of the Senate Agriculture, Nutrition and Forestry Committee, Senator Thune co-sponsored legislation to ensure mandatory funding for energy programs in the Agriculture Act of 2014. Through his efforts, Congress has incorporated innovative programs in the Farm bill to spur the development of biomass, purpose grown energy crops, biobased products and renewable chemicals.

"As a member of the Senate Finance Committee, Senator Thune has been instrumental in renewing tax credits for second-generation biofuels. We look forward to working with the Senator in extending these credits in any tax reform and developing new credits for emerging renewable chemicals."

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2017, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement