National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2017
Member Directory

Source: BASF and Commodity Assns Joint newsletter

BASF, in partnership with industry-leading commodity associations, awarded 12 passionate and motivated agriculture students with academic scholarships. Along with the American Soybean Association (ASA), the National Sorghum Producers (NSP), the National Corn Growers Association (NCGA), and the National Wheat Foundation (NWF), BASF presented the scholarships to recipients during a ceremony at the 2017 Commodity Classic tradeshow in San Antonio.

"These students have shown a commitment to the future of our industry through their enthusiasm for learning and desire for sustainable agriculture," said Neil Bentley, Director of Marketing, U.S. Crop, BASF. "The growth of agriculture starts with promising students like these, and we look forward to seeing their impact."

American Soybean Association Scholarship

BASF and ASA presented the 11th ASA Secure Optimal Yield (SOY) Scholarship. The SOY Scholarship is a $5,000 award presented to an exceptional high school senior who thrives in both academics and in leadership roles. Students must also plan to pursue a degree in an agriculture-related field at an accredited college or university to receive the SOY Scholarship.

Clare Sollars of Washington Court House, Ohio, was selected as the 2017-2018 ASA SOY scholarship recipient. Clare will pursue a bachelor's degree in food engineering at The Ohio State University's College of Agriculture and College of Engineering.

"Through ASA's partnership with BASF, we've been able to invest in young leaders within the agriculture industry for more than a decade," said Richard Wilkins, President of ASA. "Clare's compassion for the world's growing need for available, nutritious food, as well as her academic background, will give her the tools she needs to help advance the industry."

National Sorghum Foundation - BASF Scholarship

An exciting new scholarship from National Sorghum Producers has emerged for deserving college students. For the first time, the National Sorghum Producers, in partnership with BASF, awarded two $2,500 scholarships. The recipients are pursuing agriculture-related degrees and are making a difference in the industry through their extracurricular activities.

"Our association is very proud of these young representatives supporting sorghum," said Tim Lust, National Sorghum Producers CEO. "It's our pleasure to do our part in helping them pursue their careers."

Students awarded the first-ever National Sorghum Foundation - BASF Scholarship include:

Abigail Arthaud of Keyes, Oklahoma - a senior at Oklahoma State University studying agricultural communication.

Cody Nedbalek of College Station, Texas - a graduate student at Texas A&M University, studying biological & agricultural engineering.
National Corn Growers Association Scholarships

NCGA, in partnership with BASF, awards the William C. Berg Academic Excellence in Agriculture scholarship to outstanding undergraduate or graduate students pursuing degrees in agriculture.

"Our industry needs a well-educated and dedicated group of future leaders to help create demand and feed our growing world," said NCGA President Wesley Spurlock, a corn grower from Stratford, Texas. "These five scholarship winners will help this happen."

Scholarships of $1,000 were awarded to each of the following students:

Izak Christensen of Ames, Iowa - a concurrent undergraduate and graduate student at Iowa State University studying agricultural business and agronomy, and pursuing a master's degree in business administration.

Jose Rodrigo Mendoza Jimenez of Guatemala City, Guatemala - a graduate student at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln studying food science and technology.

Kelsey Barnes of College Station, Texas - a graduate student at Texas A&M University studying international agriculture.

Michael Tupper of Ionia, Iowa - a junior at Iowa State University studying agricultural engineering.

Rachel Stevens of Falls City, Nebraska - a graduate student at the University of Nebraska-Lincoln studying mechanized systems management.

National Wheat Foundation Scholarships

The Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship aids both high school and college students with a track record of success and motivation inside and outside the classroom and who are dedicated to a career in agriculture. The late Jerry Minore was a BASF Senior Market Manager and a liaison to the wheat industry. Since his unexpected death in 2012, BASF has partnered with the NWF to fund scholarships and honor his advocacy efforts for wheat growers. This year, the Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship committee awarded four students with either $1,000 or $1,500 scholarships.

"These young people are enthusiastic about advocating for our industry," said NAWG Chairman Dusty Tallman, a wheat grower from Colorado. "We are very proud of this year's Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship recipients. These students represent the bright future of agriculture and we are excited to be a part of it."

Recipients of the NWF Jerry Minore Memorial Scholarship include:

Carmen Swannack of Lamont, Washington - a junior at Washington State University studying agricultural biotechnology.

Kayla Beechinor of Walla Walla, Washington - a freshman at Washington State University studying agricultural biotechnology and field crop management.

Matthew Klopfenstein of Haviland, Ohio - a third-year student at The Ohio State University in Columbus, Ohio, pursuing a degree in biological and agricultural engineering.

Travis Born of Ferris, Texas - a sophomore at Texas A&M University-Commerce studying agricultural sciences.

BASF, the ASA, NSP, NCGA, and NWF are committed to fostering the next crop of talented agriculture students, thereby providing generations of critical growth in our industry. For more information about the industry initiatives BASF supports, visit

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2018, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement