National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2017
Member Directory

National Association of Farm Broadcasting (NAFB) reports:

At the 69th Convention of the National Association of Farm Broadcasting, November 9 in Kansas City, Leslie Smith, KRVN Rural Radio Network, Scottsbluff, NE, was named Horizon Award winner and Al Gustin, KFYR/KBMR Radio, Bismark, ND was named Farm Broadcaster of the Year.

Since 1969, NAFB has been recognizing distinguished broadcasters with the Farm Broadcaster of the Year Award. It is given to individuals who have proven their abilities in broadcasting, have shown a true commitment to the industry through their actions and their promotional efforts and have shown leadership in the industry and within their communities. It is perhaps the most coveted award in our industry.

Al Gustin was born in 1947 and raised on a diversified Morton County farm. He began his broadcasting career in 1967, while attending North Dakota State University in Fargo. Currently with KBMR and KFYR, he is the familiar face and trusted voice in farm homes across the region.
In addition to his broadcasting duties, he writes a monthly magazine column. He has spoken to many farm groups from local 4-H and FFA meetings to national conventions.

The National Academy of Television Arts and Sciences enrolled him in their 2003 "Silver Circle" for lifetime contributions to the television industry. In 2004, he received the "Pioneer Award" from the North Dakota Broadcasters Association. If you didn't know, our winner is retiring after 40 years of Farm and News Broadcasting.

The Horizon Award was established in 1995 and serves to recognize broadcasters with less than five years of membership who show promise in the industry.

The 2012 Horizon Award winner, Leslie Smith of KRVN Rural Radio Network, is a native of Kiowa, Colorado, a 2002 graduate of Colorado State University, has been employed with the Nebraska Rural Radio Association since 2005 and the last three and a half years has worked as a farm broadcaster for KNEB. She is currently a member of the Scottsbluff-Gering Chamber of Commerce Agri-Business Committee, the Panhandle Business Professional Women Organization and the Ag Pen Pal program.

Smith has been recognized as the Nebraska Agri-Business Association's, 2011 Media Person of the Year, is the Scottsbluff Business Professional Women 2011 Young Careerist and received the NAFB excellence in Farm Reporting Award in 2009 and 2011.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2017, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement