National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2017
Member Directory

Source: Bayer CropScience news release

Replacing a school's leaky windows, equipping firefighters with grassland fire suits, outfitting a park's playground with materials that are safer for children - these reasons compelled this year's judges to select a few of the latest More for Everyone community award winners.

The annual awards program that financially supports small community groups is made possible by InVigorŪ canola hybrids from Bayer CropScience. Through the More for Everyone awards program, Bayer CropScience is donating a total of $30,000 to 10 non-profit organizations across North Dakota in 2013.

In the program's four-year lifetime, Bayer CropScience has awarded more than $117,000 to local groups nominated by canola farmers.

"We believe the benefits of InVigor hybrids result in More for Everyone," says Tom Schuler, strategy lead of seeds and traits for Bayer CropScience. "For farmers, InVigor means the best genetics and more yield. For the canola-growing communities across North Dakota, InVigor means more than $100,000 of repairs, training and education, supplies, and hope."

The total amount awarded each year is linked to how much InVigor canola seed farmers reserved during the company's Early Book period. For each bag of seed reserved during Early Book, Bayer CropScience allotted a specific amount for the More for Everyone awards.

Farmers who booked their InVigor seed during Early Book - by March 22, 2013 - also had the opportunity to nominate a deserving organization in their communities. A panel of three independent judges chose the following organizations from 125 submissions to receive awards:

$5,000 each
Lakota Area Ambulance District (Lakota, N.D.)
Mohall Park Board (Mohall, N.D.)
Munich Park (Munich, N.D.)
St. Alphonsus School (Langdon, N.D.)
Sarles Rural Fire Department (Sarles, N.D.)

$1,000 each
Bowbells Women Helping Others (Bowbells, N.D.)
First Presbyterian Church of Rolla (Rolla, N.D.)
Mott Fire Department (Mott, N.D.)
Roosevelt Park Zoo (Minot, N.D.)
Velva Public School Vocational Ag Department (Velva, N.D.)

The judges were Sherri Coleman, associate director of the Northern Canola Growers Association; Brian Jenks, weed scientist with North Dakota State University; and Sarah Wilson, an agricultural advocate from Jamestown, N.D.

"It is an honor to support our farmer-customers and their neighbors through the More for Everyone awards," adds Schuler.

"Each year in the award nominations, canola farmers tell stories of numerous non-profit organizations that make a difference to small, rural communities. Our goal is to help to make a difference for the individuals involved in these groups and for the many people who benefit from the organizations' presence."

This summer, Bayer CropScience will host local events for each of the $5,000-award winners. Community members are invited to join their canola-growing neighbors to celebrate the local contributions of InVigor canola. Location, date and time will be announced for each event.

For more information, visit

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2019, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement