National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2017
Member Directory

Source: National Association of Wheat Growers news release

The National Association of Wheat Growers announced their choices for the 2013 Wheat Advocate Award this week, an award given annually to Members of Congress who have demonstrated support for the wheat industry above and beyond the norm. Two of the recipients of the 2013 award are U.S. Senator Sherrod Brown and U.S. Representative Bob Gibbs.

As chair of the Agriculture Committee's Subcommittee on Jobs, Rural Economic Growth, and Energy Innovation, Senator Brown fought to finish and pass a five-year farm bill. He was a key supporter of developing a safety-net for farms during uncertain times like the drought that plagued the nation during 2012.

Congressman Gibbs was also vocal in his support of a balanced five-year farm bill and continued to push for a compromise and final passage.

The Congressman also worked to drive the farm bill policies to make sure they were set up in a way that farmers will continue to plant for what the markets demand.

He also has been an advocate for sound regulatory reform and infrastructure improvements as the Chair of U.S. House Transportation Subcommittee on Water Resources and the Environment.

As the 2014 year unfolds, agriculture will continue to look to leaders like Senator Brown and Representative Gibbs to champion the important pieces of agricultural legislation that might affect Ohio's No.1 industry.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2018, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement