National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2017
Member Directory

Source: Iowa State University news release

Awards were presented this spring to Iowa State University College of Agriculture and Life Sciences alumni, faculty and students by the Iowa Beta Chapter of the Honor Society of Agriculture, known as Gamma Sigma Delta.

Capt. Carlos LeBron and Delbert "Hank" Harris received the Alumni Award of Merit, which recognizes exemplary contributions to agriculture.

LeBron received bachelor's, master's and doctorate degrees from Iowa State in food and science technology, food technology-mycology and food science and technology-microbiology, respectively. He is the commanding officer of Naval Medical Research Center-Asia.

LeBron's career has taken him all over the world as he ensures service men and women stay healthy when they are on active duty. His work has included research providing new treatment information for pathogens in South America and establishment of the premier biological weapons detection laboratory in the Pacific Rim.

Harris is a professor emeritus who recently retired from his joint appointment in the College of Agriculture and Life Sciences and the College of Veterinary Medicine. He also is founder and president of Harrisvaccines Inc.

Harris has developed disease control strategies and vaccines for infectious diseases of swine for more than 40 years. His most recent accomplishment is taking his Iowa State research and creating a company that can rapidly produce animal vaccines by using the gene sequence procured from an infectious disease-causing agent in animals.

Four Mission Awards were presented that recognize faculty who have made exceptional contributions in helping Iowa State achieve its mission. The Teaching Award was presented to Lee Kilmer, animal science.

Anna Johnson, animal science, received the Extension Award. The Research Award was presented to Christopher Tuggle, animal science. M. Douglas Kenealy, animal science, received the International Award.

The honor society also recognized two undergraduates: Aislinn Pomfret of Hudson, Wis., received the Sophomore Scholarship; and Branden Zuck, Ladysmith, Wis., received the Senior Scholarship. Both Pomfret and Zuck are majoring in animal science.

These awards are presented to students who earn the highest grade point average in the sophomore and senior classes.

Two faculty, 53 undergraduate students and 55 graduate students were inducted into the honor society at the event.

New chapter officers were installed. They are Ken Holscher, entomology, president; Ryan Anderson, agriculture education and studies, vice president; Terri Boylston, food science and human nutrition, secretary-treasurer; and Cynthia Haynes, horticulture, historian. Outgoing president is Curt Youngs, animal science.

The purpose of Gamma Sigma Delta is to encourage excellence in the practice of agricultural pursuits and high standards of scholarship in all areas of agricultural science and education.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
American Business Media Canadian Agri-Marketing Association National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters American Agricultural Editors' Association Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2017, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement