Stay Informed
with these

Agri Marketing Update
e-newsletter sent each Monday and Thursday
Agri Marketing
Text Alerts

Big news as it breaks
@AgriMarketing on Twitter
Farm Show Guide
Marketing Services Guide

National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2022

The Agribusiness Leader of the Year award recognizes leadership achievement in agriculture and the food and fiber industry. This award is the most prestigious recognition that is bestowed by the National Agri-Marketing Association (NAMA). The award's name was changed from the Agri-Marketer of the Year in 2001 in recognition of the strong leadership role previous honorees have contributed to the agribusiness industry. This year's honoree, Richard Clauss, chairman of the board, Hilmar Cheese Company, Hilmar, Calif., certainly reflects the industry leadership recognized by this award. Clauss was presented the award during the 2003 Agri-Marketing Conference & Trade Show, April 15-17 in San Diego.

The Agribusiness Leader of the Year honors outstanding leaders in agribusiness, education, government service and other agribusiness-related areas. Nominees are solicited from senior-level positions in private, public or academic service. Nominees exemplify excellence in agribusiness through their contributions to the industry. Nominations may come directly to the national level or through local NAMA chapters who forward chapter honorees. Nominees do not need to be NAMA members.

The NAMA Professional Recognition Committee oversees the process of selection. A nominating panel, selected by the committee, previews the nominees and selects the top four candidates. A judging panel is then appointed to make the final decision from among the final four candidates. The judging panel includes previous honorees of the award.

Each nominee for the Agribusiness Leader of the Year is evaluated based on specific criteria. These criteria and the point value of each are:

Leadership (40): What is the nominee's unique approach to leading others? Demonstrate the nominee's role as a leader within the agricultural industry and far-reaching impact on the agribusiness community. How has the nominee made exceptional contributions and exemplified excellence in agribusiness?

Innovative Ability (20): What is the nominee's understanding of current issues and needs related to agribusiness? How has the nominee's leadership style contributed to unique approaches and demonstrated leadership in action?

Accomplishment (20): Discuss the creative solutions of the nominee regarding issues of national importance. What achievements distinguish the nominee within the past two years?

Industry Leadership (20): What role has the nominee played in professional organizations (primarily organizations serving agribusiness, farmers or ranchers). What have been the nominee's contributions to the agriculture community through service to organizations and the industry?


2003 Richard Clauss, Hilmar Cheese Company

2002 Charlie Fischer, Dow AgroSciences

2001 Emmett Barker, Equipment Manufacturers Institute

2000 R.W. "Bud" Porter, John Deere

1999 Bruce Bickner, DeKalb Genetics (Monsanto Global Seed Group)

1998 William F. Kirk, DuPont Agricultural Enterprise

1997 Arnold Donald, Monsanto Agricultural Group

1996 Harry Cleberg, Farmland Industries

1995 Ed McMillan, Purina Mills Inc.

1994 Dwayne Andreas, Archer Daniels Midland

1993 Robert Wichmann, Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc.

1992 Gary Parker, Lindsay Manufacturing Co.

1991 W.F.R. Griffith, American Cyanamid Co.

1990 Thomas Dille, Rhone-Poulenc Ag Co.

1989 Nicholas Babson, Babson Brothers Co.

1988 Olin Andrews, Farmers Hybrid Cos. Inc.

1987 Dave Garst, Garst Seed Co.

1986 Leo Bontempo, Ciba Crop Protection

1985 Dr. Kenneth L. Bader, American Soybean Assn.

1984 John N. Chuchman, Ford Tractors Operations

1983 Dr. Owen J. Newlin, Pioneer Hi-Bred International Inc.

1982 Nicholas Reding, Monsanto Co.

1981 R.C. Lanphier III, Dickey-john Corp.

1980 Joe Ecker, Gehl Co.

1979 Robert M. Book, Elanco Products Division, Eli Lilly & Co.

1978 Robert M. Hendrickson, Pfizer Agricultural Division

1977 Donald E. Fritz, Farmer Hybrid Cos. Inc.

1976 Harold Noren, DeKalb Ag Research Inc.

1975 E.W. Cook, Cook Industries

1974 Walt Buescher, Allis Chalmers

1973 Bill Bricker, Diamond Shamrock Chemical

1972 Fred Stines, Successful Farming

1971 Del Walker, Funk Brothers Seed Co.

1970 Dr. James G. Affleck, American Cyanamid Co.

1969 Lyle Yost, Hesston Corp.

1968 Dr. Robert Spitzer, Murphy Products Co.

1967 Emory Dearborn, Ford Tractor Operations

1966 Maurice Turner, Amchem Products Inc.

1965 George Varner, Eli Lilly & Co.

1964 Morris W. Reid, J.I. Case Co.

1963 W.J. Jensen, Butler Manufacturing Co.

1962 Don Murphy, Wallaces Farmer

*The award name was changed from the Agri-Marketer of the Year Award to the Agribusiness Leader of the Year in 2001. AM

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
SIIA AM&P Canadian Agri-food Marketers Alliance National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters Agricultural Communicators Network Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2023, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement