Stay Informed
with these

Agri Marketing Update
e-newsletter sent each Monday and Thursday
Agri Marketing
Text Alerts

Big news as it breaks
@AgriMarketing on Twitter
Farm Show Guide
Marketing Services Guide

National Agri-Marketing Association
NAMA Website
Upcoming Events
Agri-Marketing Conf
Best of NAMA 2022

Publications professionals from around the country "Rocked the Renaissance Hotel" at the fifth annual Agricultural Publications Summit (APS), held July 27-30 in Cleveland. Professional improvement, networking and fun were all a part of the combined meeting of three organizations: the American Agricultural Editors' Association (AAEA), the Livestock Publications Council (LPC) and the ABM AgriCouncil.

There were approximately 400 attendees at APS and a total of 53 agricultural companies exhibited at the InfoExpo, promoting their new products and programs. Also, a wide variety of more than 30 seminars and breakout sessions were offered this year. Many seminars featured writing, design and photo clinics, but there were also sessions that offered information on workplace management, ergonomics and much more. One crowd favorite was Craig Zablocki, who left everyone with the importance of lightening up and living every day with positive humor.

Next year's APS will be held July 25-28 in Tampa, Fla., at the Saddlebrook Resort, located 35 minutes north of Tampa International Airport.



Editorial Opinion - John Phipps, Top Producer

Human Interest - Dave Mowitz, Successful Farming

Humorous Article - Gail Keck, Ohio Farmer

Internet Breaking News - Dan Looker, Successful Farming

Issues - Clint Peck, BEEF

On-Farm Production Article - Dave Mowitz, Successful Farming

Personality Profile - Penny Banks, Landscapes

Regular Column - John Phipps, Farm Journal

Technical Feature - Barbara Fairchild, Farm Journal

Team Story - Betsy Freese, John Walter, Gene Johnston, Lisa Prater, Successful Farming

Writer of the Year - David Mowitz, Successful Farming

Story of the Year - "Brazilian Beef Series" by Clint Peck, BEEF


Cover Page Design-Commercial
- Joe Tenerelli, Top Producer

Cover Page Design-Custom - Tom Sizemore, The Furrow

Single-Page Editorial Design-Commercial - Joe Link, Progressive Farmer

Single-Page Editorial Design-Custom - Kim Allen, AGCO Advantage

Two-Plus Page Design-Commercial - Joe Link, Progressive Farmer

Two-Plus Page Design-Custom - Tom Sizemore, The Furrow

Overall Magazine Design-Commercial - Joe Tenerelli, Top Producer

Overall Magazine Design-Custom - Kim Allen, Massey Ferguson Today

Overall Magazine Design-Special Issues - Merit Award: Tom Sizemore, The Furrow

Web Design-Electronic Newsletter/Magazine-Commercial - Merit Award: John Walter, Agriculture Online, Merit Award: Paul Yanko, The Western Producer

Special Publications Design - Joe Tenerelli, Farm Journal Media

Overall Print Newsletter Design-Custom - Joe Tenerelli, Ag Insight


- Mike Raine, Western Producer

Pictorial - Mike Raine, Western Producer

Feature - Mike Raine, Western Producer

Nuts & Bolts - Livestock - Jim Patrico, Progressive Farmer

Nuts & Bolts - Crops - John Leidner, Progressive Farmer

Picture Story, Photo Sequence or Photo Essay - Charles Johnson, The Furrow

Farm Magazine Cover of the Year - Farm Industry News, January 2003

Best Use of Photos/Design - The Furrow

Photo of the Year - Mike Raine, Western Producer

AAEA Photographer of the Year - Mike Raine, Western Producer


Distinguished Service Award
- Angie Denton, Angus Productions Inc.

Hall of Fame - Cheryl Oxley, Angus Productions Inc.

Headliner - Bill Brewer, American Quarter Horse Association

Flanagan Most Improved Publication Award - American Quarter Horse Racing Journal

Peerless Writing Award (Service) - Steve Suther, Certified Angus Beef LLC

Peerless Writing Award (Publication) - Kindra Gordon, Angus Journal

Diamond Writing Award - Kindra Gordon, Angus Journal

Diamond Designer Award - Mark Ringenberg, Charolais Journal

Forrest Bassford Student Award - Lance Zimmerman, Kansas State University


Livestock - Shari Holloway-Turner, The Lone Coyote Co.

People - Lisa Bryant

Scenic - Harlen Persinger, Bader Rutter & Associates

General - Harlen Persinger, Bader Rutter & Associates

Overall Winner - Harlen Persinger, Bader Rutter & Associates AM

Mark Jenks of Prior Lake, Minn., is associate manager of the American Agricultural Editors' Association.

Search News & Articles

Proudly associated with:
SIIA AM&P Canadian Agri-food Marketers Alliance National Agri-Marketing Association
Agricultural Relations Council National Association of Farm Broadcasters Agricultural Communicators Network Livestock Publications Council
All content © 2023, Henderson Communications LLC. | User Agreement